If an officer arrests you on a Florida road with blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher, you can receive charges of driving under the influence. Florida can also give you a DUI if you show obvious impairment at the scene.
Before facing a court date for DUI, review the state’s possible legal consequences for a conviction.
A first-time DUI in Florida may result in a minimum 180-day license suspension. The state can also impound your vehicle for 10 days.
If you get another DUI within 10 years, the possible license revocation extends to five years. Vehicle impoundment increases to 30 days.
The third offense carries a 10-year license revocation. However, you may qualify for a restricted work license after serving at least two years.
Fines start at $500 for a first-time Florida DUI. For cases involving multiple DUIs, BAC of 0.15% or higher, and other extenuating circumstances, you could receive up to $5,000 in fines. For a third DUI, for example, Florida has a $4,000 minimum fine for a conviction.
Although first DUI offenses rarely carry jail time in Florida, the judge could order six to nine months depending on the circumstances of your case. A second DUI has a mandatory minimum of 10 days in prison, which increases to 30 days for a third DUI. In cases with extenuating negative circumstances, you could serve up to 12 months.
If you face DUI charges and struggle with substance use, you may qualify for a diversion program that offers treatment for addiction.